fbpx East Hampton Historical Society | The Steampunk Explorer

East Hampton Historical Society

101 Main St., East Hampton, NY 11937

This historical society maintains six museums in East Hampton on the South Shore of Long Island. It's headquartered at the Osborn-Jackson House built in 1720. The house "features a display of furnishings typical of the well-to-do lifestyle of a post-Colonial East End family," according to the society. "Highlights of the exhibition include a tall clock, a high chest, candle stands, and chairs built in the East Hampton workshop of the Dominy family of craftsmen between 1780 and 1840."

The Mulford Farm, built in 1680, "is considered one of America's most significant, intact, English Colonial farmsteads."

East Hampton Town Marine Museum "tells the unique story of Long Island's East End community and its relationship with the sea through artifacts, photographs, models, and displays."

The other properties are the Clinton Academy (1784), Town House (1785) and Hook Schoolhouse (1784). The Town House and Schoolhouse have been moved to a site near the Clinton Academy.